History & Culture

Current and Upcoming Events

Press Releases & Positions

Mohawk Nation Office (Kahnawà:ke Branch)

Longhouse Projects & Activities

Contact Information & Links
Kahnawà:ke Kanien’kehá:ka Kanakeráhsera
Kahnawà:ke Branch of the Mohawk Nation
Ne Ià:ia’k Nihononhontsá:ke - Six Nation Iroquois Confederacy

The Mohawk Nation at Kahnawà:ke is the traditional seat of government for the Kanien’kehá:ka (Mohawk) people at Kahnawà:ke.

Kahnawà:ke is one of eight territories that make up the Kanien’kehá:ka (Mohawk) Nation. The Mohawk Nation is a member of the Haudenosaunee or People of the Longhouse. The Haudenosaunee are a sovereign people composed of five (and later six) Indigenous nations; often referred to as the Six Nation Iroquois Confederacy. They are:

  • Kanien'kehá:ka - The Mohawk Nation
  • Oneniote'á:ka - The Oneida Nation
  • Ononta'kehá:ka - The Onondaga Nation
  • Kaion'kehá:ka - The Cayuga Nation
  • Shotinontowane'á:ka - The Seneca Nation
  • Tehatiskaró:ros - The Tuscarora Nation

The Haudenosaunee are a constitutional democracy that has existed since time immemorial and long before the colonial occupation of settler states such as Canada and the United States.  The Haudenosaunee are governed by an ancient constitution known as the Kaianere’kó:wa; the Great Law of Peace.

Pursuant to this sovereign status, the Mohawk Nation at Kahnawà:ke sits beneath its protective umbrella and enjoys the freedoms and liberties afforded to it under the Haudenosaunee Constitution; the Kaianere’kó:wa. Likewise, the Mohawk Nation at Kahnawà:ke serves as the custodians of Haudenosaunee sovereignty and interests within the Territory of Kahnawà:ke.

    Important Notice   Home | Government | History & Culture | Current Events | Presse Releases & Positions
Mohawk Nation Office | Longhouse Projects and Activities | Contact Information & Links